Every thing you need to know about Bank Exams

IBPS bank exam
Bank exam

Bank Exams are conducted under the body, called as IBPS (Institute of Banking Personnel Selection).

IBPS exam is conducted by the Institute for Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS) to select eligible candidates for the post of Probationary Officers (PO),Management Trainee, Specialist Officer, RRB officer and Clerk in various public sector banks. The number of public sector banks where successful candidates may get allocated amounts to roughly 20. Set up by the banking industry, IBPS was launched in 1975 and became an independent entity in 1984. Today, IBPS is a prestigious institute that has complete control over the recruitment, placement and promotion of candidates at public sector banks. It is mandatory for candidates to take the examinations conducted by IBPS to secure a great future in public sector banks. 

Examination process

The exam includes a Common Written Exam followed by an interview. Only those who clear the written test are eligible for the interview.

Written Exam

Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS) conducts its examination in two phases or tiers. The two tier exam for recruitment of IBPS PO and Clerks started only after CWE V. Earlier, it was a single tier examination. The two tier examination includes:
1. IBPS Preliminary Exam
2. IBPS Mains Exam.


Initially, the participating banks conducted the common interview. But since 2012, IBPS has taken up the responsibility to arrange the common interview at various locations. Post which, they will prepare a list of the meritorious candidates, which the banks will then refer to for the recruitment process.

What is the qualification for IBPS PO exam?

Nationality: A citizen of India/ Nepal/ Bhutan or Tibetan Refugee
A person of Indian origin who is a migrant of Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India
The candidate who belongs to other countries or is migrants should produce the certificate of eligibility which has to be issued by Indian Government.

Educational Qualification: The candidate must have a graduation degree in any discipline from the Indian Government recognized University or any equivalent qualification recognized by the Central Government. The candidate should have a valid mark sheet/ degree certificate.

Age Limit Criteria:  The minimum Age limit for IBPS examinations as on 01.07.2017  is 20 years. And the maximum age limit is 30 years. The age limit differs for Scale-2 recruitment.

Age Relaxation:

  1. Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe – 5 years
  2. Other Backward Classes (Non-Creamy Layer Only) – 3 years
  3. Persons With Disabilities – 10 years
  4. Ex-Servicemen – 5 years
  5. Persons affected by 1984 riots – 5 years
  6. Also, Persons ordinarily domiciled in the Kashmir Division during the period 01.01.1980 to 31.12.1989 – 5 years

 Click on the Following links to know about anything related to your Bank Tyaari (Exam preparation).



Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook